Change your Google password NOW if you've had one of these scam texts

CYBER SECURITY experts have issued a warning about a scam text message that is stealing people's passwords and banking details.

According to ZDNet, crooks posing as Google are targeting phones powered by the Android operating system, which is owned by the US search giant.

The texts falsely claim that the recipient's mobile has been infected with malware and tells them to download a security update.

However, clicking a link in the text will lead to the infection of your phone with FluBot, a form of Android malware that can nick your personal details.

FluBot is know to steal the online passwords, banking details and other sensitive information linked to infected smartphones.

The dodgy download also uses the compromised device to spread itself to other victims, adding another link to the chain of infections.

Links can be sent to iPhones, although Apple devices are unaffected by the malware.

After a user follows the link, a red warning screen says "your device is infected with FluBot malware".

It cheekily even informs the victim about FluBot, stating that it is Android spyware that steals financial login and password data.

The user is then encouraged to click a link to download a security update – which in fact infects their phone with FluBot.

If you suspect you've been infected, you should contact your bank to check whether there has been any suspicious activity on your account.

You should also change all of your online passwords, as they may now be in the hands of hackers.

It's also recommended that you perform a factory reset of your phone to rid it of the malware.

Google has poured a lot of resources into improving the security of its users amid a global rise in online scams and phishing campaigns.

Earlier this week, the firm announced that it will soon require fans to use a new, more secure way of logging in to their accounts.

The enforced enabling of two-factor authentication (2FA), which adds a second step to the login process, will roll out by the end of 2021.

The move will impact more than 150million Google accounts around the world, which are required to access services such as YouTube and Gmail.

Google said that the extra authentication step makes signing in safer and protects Google accounts from cyber crooks.

In other news, the login details of 11million Facebook users in the UK was recently leaked to a hacker forum.

LG has announced that it is bowing out of the smartphone business after almost 15 years.

Fraudsters are posing as contacts on Whatsapp to hack into people's phones.

And, The Sun recently shared some handy tips on how to protect your WhatsApp messages from the prying eyes of snoopers.

We pay for your stories! Do you have a story for The Sun Online Tech & Science team? Email us at tech@the-sun.co.uk

    Source: Read Full Article